AED Fellows

The AED awards Fellow status to recognize distinguished contributions made by AED members to the field of eating disorders. The list of AED Fellows reflects a diversity of distinguished contributions to the field—and the interdisciplinary and international composition of the AED’s membership.

The status of Fellow in the Academy of Eating Disorders presupposes that the qualifications of the person have elevated him or her to national and/or international recognition as a distinguished contributor to the field of eating disorders.

In virtually all instances "distinguished" refers to a combination of the achievement of excellence and significant contributions deserving of recognition as extraordinary. The contributions of the person nominated have to be demonstrably unusual, innovative, and/or of a pioneering nature. Fellowship status is not conferred simply on the basis of seniority or competence.

The Fellowship Committee is thus looking to recognize candidates who have maintained AED membership in good standing continuously for at least the past 5 years, and who clearly have made one or more of the following contributions to the field:

(1)  Distinguished, sustained research-based scholarship that has contributed significantly to the professional literature;

(2)   Distinguished and sustained contributions to literature designed for lay audiences (e.g., people with eating disorders; families; advocates and activists);

(3)   Distinguished, sustained, nationally- and/or internationally-recognized contributions to clinical services and/or prevention;

(4)   Distinguished and sustained contributions to of the leadership and activities of the Academy of Eating Disorders;

(5)   Distinguished and sustained contributions to advocacy in the context of government or other major organizations.


List of Fellows


Diann Ackard, PhD, LP, FAED
Kelly Allison, PhD, FAED
Arnold Andersen, MD, FAED
Evelyn Attia, MD, FAED
Bryn Austin, ScD, FAED


Ursula Bailer, MD, FAED
Amy Baker-Dennis, PhD, FAED
Judith Banker, MA, LLP, FAED
Anna Bardone-Cone, PhD, FAED
J. Armando Barriguete-Melendez, MD, PhD, FAED
Anne Becker, MD, PhD, FAED
Carolyn Becker, PhD, FAED
Ovidio Bermudez, MD, FAED
C. Laird Birmingham, MD, FAED
Emmett Bishop, MD, FAED
Ahmed Boachie, MD, FAED
Wayne Bowers, PhD, ABPP, FAED
Timothy Brewerton, MD, DFAPA, FAED
Rachel Bryant-Waugh, PhD, FAED
Cynthia Bulik, PhD, FAED
Douglas Bunnell, PhD, FAED
Mardie Burckes-Miller, CEDS, CHES, EdD, FAED
Debora Burgard, PhD, FAED


Rachel Calogero, PhD, FAED
Jacqui Carter, PhD, FAED
Carolyn Costin, MA, MEd, FAED
Jennifer Couturier, MD, MSc, FAED
Ross Crosby, PhD, FAED
Scott Crow, MD, FAED


Ricardo Dalle Grave, MD, FAED
William Davis, PhD, FAED
Martina de Zwaan, MD, FAED
Rita Debate, PhD, MPH, FAED
Michael Devlin, MD, FAED


Kamryn Eddy, PhD, FAED
Ivan Eisler, PhD, CPsychol, AcSS, FAED


Christopher Fairburn, MD, FAED
Patricia Fallon, PhD, FAED
Fernando Fernandez-Aranda , PhD, FAED
Alison Field, ScD, FAED
Martin Fisher, MD, FAED
Kathleen Kara Fitzpatrick, PhD, FAED
Guido Frank, MD, FAED
Debra Franko, PhD, FAED
Anthea Fursland, PhD, FAED


Josie Geller, PhD, RPsych, FAED
Neville Golden, MD, FAED
Richard A. Gordon, PhD, FAED
Leah Graves, LD, RD, FAED


Jennifer Hagman, MD, FAED
Katherine Halmi, MD, FAED
Phillipa Hay, DPhil, FAED
Leslie Heinberg, PhD, FAED
Joann Hendelman, PhD, RN, BSN, FAED
Marcia Herrin, EdD, MPH, RD, FAED
David Herzog, MD, FAED
Thomas Hildebrandt, PsyD, FAED
Laura Hill, PhD, FAED
Hans Hoek, MD, PhD, FAED


Mimi Israël, MD, FRCP, FAED


Craig Johnson, PhD, FAED


Allan Kaplan, MD, FAED
Andreas Karwautz, MD, FAED
Debra K. Katzman, MD, FAED
Melanie Katzman, PhD, FAED
Walter Kaye, MD, FAED
Diane Keddy, MS, RD, FAED
Pamela Keel, PhD, FAED
Kelly Klump, PhD, FAED
Richard Kreipe, MD, FAED


John Hubert Lacey, MD, FAED
Jillian Lampert, PhD, MPH, RD, LD, FAED
Daniel Le Grange, PhD, FAED
Michael Levine, PhD, FAED
Rachel L. Levine, MD, FAED
Lisa R. Lilenfeld, PhD, FAED
James Lock, MD, PhD, FAED
Katharine Loeb, PhD, FAED
Jennifer Lundgren, PhD, FAED



Paulo Machado, PhD, FAED
Sloane Madden, MD, FAED
Margo D. Maine, PhD, FAED
Marsha D. Marcus, PhD, FAED
Laurel Mayer, MD, FAED
Suzanne Mazzeo, PhD, FAED
Susan McElroy, MD, FAED
Beth Hartman McGilley, PhD, FAED
Gail McVey, PhD, CPsych, FAED
Philip Mehler, MD, FAED
Nadia Micali, MD, PhD, FAED
Diane Mickley MD, FAED
James E. Mitchell, MD, FAED
J. Scott Mizes, PhD, FAED
Jonathan Mond, PhD, MPH, FAED
Charles A. Murkofsky, MD, FAED


Dianne Neumark-Sztainer, MPH, PhD, RD, FAED
Dasha Nicholls, MBBS, MD, FAED
Stacey Lynn Nye, PhD, FAED


Wendy Oliver-Pyatt, MD, FAED
Marion P. Olmsted, PhD, FAED


Robert Palmer, FRCPsych, FAED
Susan Paxton, PhD, FAED
Carol Peterson, PhD, LP, FAED
Kathleen M. Pike, PhD, FAED
Niva Piran, PhD, FAED
Charles Portney, MD, FAED
Pauline S. Powers, MD, FAED
Tamara Pryor, PhD, FAED


Dan W. Reiff, MPH, RD, FAED
Susan Ringwood, BA, FAED
Maria Teresa Rivera, MS, RD, LD, FAED
Mary Rouse, MD, FAED
Janice Russell, MD, FAED


Ulrike Schmidt, MD, PhD, FAED
Lucy Serpell, PhD, DClinPsy, FAED
Roberta Sherman, PhD, FAED
Carol Signore, MAT, MS, LMFT, FAED
Thomas Silber, MD, MASS, FAED
Reba Sloan, MPH, LRD, FAED
Howard Steiger, PhD, FAED
Ruth Striegel, PhD FAED
Michael Strober, PhD, FAED


Marian Tanofsky-Kraff, PhD, FAED
Mary Tantillo, PhD, RN, CS, FAED
Kate Tchanturia, PhD, FAED
Jennifer Thomas, PhD, FAED
Ron Thompson, PhD, FAED
Heather Thompson-Brenner, PhD, FAED
David Tobin, PhD, FAED
Stephen W. Touyz, PhD, FAED
Janet Treasure, FRCPsych, FAED
Eva Maria Trujillo, MD, FAED


Annemarie van Elburg, MD, PhD, FAED
Eric van Furth, PhD, FAED
Kristin Von Ranson, PhD, FAED


Tracey Wade, PhD, FAED
Glenn Waller, DPhil, FAED
B. Timothy Walsh, MD, FAED
Mark Warren, MD, MPH, FAED
Kenneth Weiner, MD, FAED
Ted Weltzin, MD, FAED
Jennifer Wildes, PhD, FAED
Denise Wilfley PhD, FAED
Susan G. Willard, LCSW, BCD, FAED
Claire Wiseman, PhD, FAED
Lucene Wisniewski, PhD, FAED
Stephen Wonderlich, PhD, FAED
D. Blake Woodside, MD, FAED



Kathryn Zerbe, MD, FAED